Skip to main content

Xiao recognized as 2014 Critical Thinking Teacher of the Year

Dr. Janna Vice, Dr. Qian Xiao, and Dr. Lana Carnes

Congratulations to Dr. Qian Xiao for being recognized as a 2014 Critical Thinking Teacher of the Year Award recipient. This year 257 students nominated 177 different faculty to receive this award. All nominees and winners will be recognized by the University at an awards ceremony on May 1. 

According comments from students, "One assignment was to read a case study about a current corporation and create a presentation that explained their management methods; we then critiqued any problems we found with the methods and proposed solutions. She created an environment that required students to think critically and creatively about real-life situations."

EKU's Critical Thinking Teacher of the Year is an award to recognize outstanding faculty members who have had substantial positive effects on developing their students’ critical/creative thinking skills and  for their commitment to EKU’s mission to graduate informed critical and creative thinkers who communicate effectively.

View the photo gallery...


Each fall semester a survey is placed on EKUDirect right before mid-term grades are posted and is open to all students currently enrolled. Students are asked to nominate a faculty member and give a brief explanation of why they think their nominee should be an EKU Critical Thinking Teacher of the Year.

The following MMIB faculty members were also nominated by students for the Critical Thinking Teacher of the Year Award.  Congratulations! 

  • Faridah Awang
  • Laura Barthel
  • Burke Christensen
  • Allen Engle
  • Michael Fore
  • Beth Polin
  • Qian Xiao
  • Zhe Zhang
  • Weiling Zhuang

Published on March 20, 2014

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/