Skip to main content

December 2013

Colton Burgess selected as student commencement speaker

Colton Burgess

Eastern Kentucky University will recognize 1,444 degree candidates at its annual Fall Commencement ceremonies on Saturday, Dec. 14.

The first ceremony, at 9 a.m., will honor degree candidates from the Colleges of Education, Health Sciences and Justice & Safety. The second ceremony, at 1:30 p.m., will recognize candidates from the Colleges of Arts & Sciences and Business & Technology. Both ceremonies will be held in Alumni Coliseum and are open to the public.

Together, the two ceremonies will honor 111 associate degree candidates, 970 bachelor’s degree candidates, 342 master’s degree candidates and 21 doctoral degree candidates.

The featured speaker for both ceremonies will be EKU President Michael Benson. This will be Benson’s first commencement as the University’s 12th president.

Speaking as representatives of their graduating classes in the morning and afternoon ceremonies, respectively, will be Jami Stout, of Coal Grove, Ohio, and Colton Burgess (Human Resource Management), of Staffordsville.

Afternoon ceremony details from EKU's Registrar

Saturday, December 14th 2013
Alumni Coliseum

1:30 pm

College of Arts & Sciences and College of Business & Technology

  • 12:30 p.m. - Candidates line up - Fred Darling Auxiliary Gym (Alumni Coliseum)*
  •   1:15 p.m. - Students begin marching, Pre-Commencement Concert begins
  •   1:15 p.m. - Suggested time for guests to be seated
  •   1:30 p.m. - Graduation Ceremony begins

MMIB Faculty Inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma

l-r: Drs. Carnes, Polin, Hood, Xiao, and Rogow

Dr. Beth Polin and Dr. Karen Hood were welcomed into the Beta Gamma Sigma Honorary Society on December 3, 2013, by Dean Robert Rogow, Dr. Lana Carnes, and Dr. Qian Xiao.  Pictured are (l-r): Dr. Lana Carnes, Dr. Beth Polin, Dr. Karen Hood, Dr. Zian Xiao, Dean Robert Rogow.

Also inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma were MMIB faculty members Michael Fore and Phil Boutin.


Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/