Skip to main content

February 2013

EKU Distinguished Alumnus Jack Barber Speaks to PGA Golf Management Students

Jack Barber speaking to EKU golf management students

Eastern Kentucky University’s PGA Golf Management program welcomed Jack Barber, member of the Hall of Distinguished Alumni at EKU, as a guest speaker on Tuesday, February 26. Barber, a four year member of the EKU golf team and graduate in the class of ’72, shared with the class insight to his success over his 35-plus years as a member of the Professional Golf Association of America.


Business major brings home coveted German Armed Forces Badge

l-r: Creutzinger, Thompson, Frizzelle, Gramig, Buford, and Wamsley

The EKU Army ROTC Colonel’s Battalion sent 11 Cadets to participate in the German Armed Forces Badge for Military Proficiency Competition hosted by Indiana University’s Army ROTC in Bloomington, In.  The Colonel’s outperformed all other Kentucky schools in the competition and earned an overall ranking of Fifth out of the 34 schools present with eight of our 11 Cadets receiving the coveted badge.

CDT CPL Gramig (SO, Business) Honolulu, Hi., was among that elite team.


Engle named to Society of Foundation Professors


Dr. Allen D. Engle Sr., professor of management in the School of Business at Eastern Kentucky University,  has been selected for the prestigious Foundation Professorship effective 2013-2015. This is the highest honor an EKU faculty member can receive and recognizes excellence in the classroom and dedication to students.

The Society of Foundation Professors was formed in 1987 by the EKU Foundation to recognize "creative, self-motivated exemplars of the ideal college professor." All full-time tenured faculty are eligible for the two-year professorship which comes with an extra salary stipend of $5,000 a year. The selection is based on the University's standard criteria for promotion, tenure and merit.

Dr. Engle will be recognized for his achievement at the Spring Commencement ceremonies on Saturday, May 11, at 9:00 a.m., 1:30 p.m. and 5:30 p.m.

Previous recipients in the College of Business and Technology include Dr. Elizabeth Hansen (Communication 2008-10), Dr. John E. Gump (Information Systems 1997-99), Dr. Jerry E. Joyner (Technology 1994-96), Dr. Ron G. Wolfe (Communication 1991-93), Dr. James W. Masterson (Technology 1990-92), and Dr. Stephen W. Fardo (Technology 1989-91).

Read more from EKUNews...

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/